Logo Geomorphology Specialty Group, AAG

AAG Logo

IAG Logo

2005 GSG Award Recipients

G.K. Gilbert Award for Excellence in Geomorphological Research:


  • Mark Fonstad and Andrew Marcus for "Self-Organized Criticality in Riverbank Systems." Annals of the Association of American Geographers 93(2): 281-296. Citation by Dick Marston.
  • Photo: (Left to right) Vicki Lawson with Maya Hirsch, Andrew Marcus, Mark Fonstad, and Alec Murphy (in back).

Melvin G. Marcus Distinguished Career Award:


  • Donald Johnson. (University of Illinois at Urbana - Champaign). Citation by Randy Schaetzl and Jennifer Horwath.
  • Photo: AAG President Vicki Lawson congratulates Donald Johnson.

Reds Wolman Student Research Awards:


  • Ph.D.: Mark Lange ($400), (University of Southern California) Spatial-temporal Patterns of Suspended Sediment Transport at a Tidal River Bifurcation Advisor: Bernard O. Bauer.

  • Masters: Rebecca Manners ($200), (University of North Carolina) Determining the Function of the Not-So-Large Woody Debris: An Hydraulic Evaluation of the Maintenance of Large Woody Debris (LWD) Jams Advisor: Martin Doyle.

Graduate Student Paper Awards:


  • Ph.D.: Jordan Clayton ($200), (University of Colorado) The Influence of Surface Sorting on Particle Mobility in Gravel-Bed River Meanders. Advisor: John Pitlick.

  • Masters: Maya Hirsch ($100), (Missouri State University) Sources and Transport of Sediment-Bound Phosphorous in Agricultural Streams, Des Moines Lobe, Iowa. Advisor: Robert Pavlowsky.

Send comments or suggestions to the GSG Web MasterLast Modified: February 26, 2013 14:04:53